Search Site
Menu
Violent Crimes

Little Rock Criminal Law Attorneys Defend Violent Crime Cases

Reliable and established trial lawyers handle homicide and robbery charges

Since 1994, James Law Firm has risen to become one of the leading violent crime defense firms in Arkansas. Our experienced attorneys understand that a good defense begins as early as possible — in the investigation phase, before an arrest is made, whenever possible. If an investigation leads to your arrest, our attorneys go to court ready to argue for your freedom. Throughout the process, we are committed to defending you aggressively while keeping you and your family informed of every development in your case.

Aggressive representation for every category of homicide under Arkansas law

The Arkansas Code sets out a range of homicide charges, all of which carry serious penalties:

  • Capital murder — Capital murder is premeditated murder, a murder committed during the commission of a violent felony or a murder committed under certain aggravated circumstances. This crime is punishable by execution or life in prison without the possibility of parole.
  • First degree murder — First degree murder is killing another person during a nonviolent felony or causing the death of one person while attempting to kill another person.
  • Second degree murder — Second degree murder is unintentionally causing the death of another under circumstances showing extreme indifference to human life. A person convicted of second degree murder faces six to 30 years in prison.
  • Manslaughter — Manslaughter is defined as killing another person recklessly, during a state of extreme emotional disturbance or while committing a different felony. The sentence runs between three and 10 years’ imprisonment.
  • Negligent homicide — A person can be guilty of negligent homicide for causing someone’s death by failing to act in a reasonable manner to protect others from foreseeable risks of harm.

The authorities have the burden of proving that the defendant committed the act that led to the victim’s death while being in the mental state appropriate to the charge.

Asserting viable defenses in homicide cases

James Law Firm excels at challenging the government’s evidence to force prosecutors to prove their case beyond a reasonable doubt. In some cases, the facts allow for an affirmative defense, such as:

  • Alibi — The defendant couldn’t have committed the crime because he or she was elsewhere.
  • Self-defense — The victim was the aggressor and the accused was an innocent target; the accused merely exercised his or her lawful right to defend his or her life.
  • Defense of an innocent third party — The victim attacked an innocent third party and the accused intervened to protect him or her.

Alternately, it is possible to introduce doubt to prevent a conviction or at least force a reduction in charges using strategies that include:

  • Highlighting the government’s lack of evidence
  • Demonstrating the inadequacy of evidence
  • Challenging illegal searches and seizures
  • Questioning forensic techniques and results
  • Submitting alternative theories of how the incident happened

Our experienced Little Rock criminal defense attorneys use these and other legal tools to pursue positive results in your case.

How robbery is charged in Arkansas

In Arkansas, robbery encompasses more than theft through force. Any felony, such as arson or drug trafficking, may include a robbery charge if threats of physical harm are used during the commission of that felony. The government sometimes charges simple robbery to elevate a crime that would otherwise be a misdemeanor to a felony to force an admission of guilt. Aggravated robbery is charged when a deadly weapon is used or mentioned, or when serious physical injury is attempted. With our legal team at your side, you won’t be intimidated into surrendering your rights.

Assault and battery crimes in Arkansas

The Arkansas Code lists several offenses we refer to collectively as assault and battery. Use of a deadly weapon and/or the infliction of serious harm can increase the charge to felony aggravated assault or first degree battery where a conviction could result in lengthy incarceration. Even purposely creating an apprehension of imminent physical injury in another person is chargeable as a Class C misdemeanor. As your advocates, we work tirelessly to raise issues that create doubt as we pursue a favorable outcome.

Arkansas’s First Offender Act offers conviction relief for people who have never before been convicted of a crime. If you successfully complete your probation and you are a first-time offender, you may have your record sealed or expunged in many cases. We can advise as to whether you qualify for this relief.

Contact Little Rock attorneys who are experienced with violent crime charges

At James Law Firm, our defense attorneys have earned a reputation for hard work, attentive service and successful results. Call us at (501) 375-0900 or contact us online to schedule your free consultation in Little Rock, Arkansas. We are available 24/7 to assist you. Jail visits are available. Hablamos español.

Reviews and Ratings
  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    This firm is 5*. We hired them on Thursday afternoon and Friday morning they called with information on my case. This firm is dedicated to their clients. Bill James is awesome !

    Read more

    Client

  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    Very responsive to the needs of my clients in domestic abuse cases.

    Read more

    Client

  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    Patty James 'ROCKS'! She was the answer to all of my prayers. I know for a fact that GOD sent her to me. I felt protected with her. I felt that all I needed to do was leave everything in her hands and she would take care of the problem, and she did E...

    Read more

    Client

  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    No description provided

    Read more

    Managing Partner

  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    No description provided

    Read more

    Managing Partner

See all reviews
Contact us

Quick Contact Form