Sex crimes carry heavy penalties and require convicted parties to register as sex offenders. But even the accusation of a sex crime can be devastating for your reputation, your home life and your career. At James Law Firm, we are determined to protect our clients’ rights through aggressive litigation of all charges. But we also know the value of discretion during the process. We provide personalized service, so you never feel like you’re alone as we pursue a favorable resolution.
Nonviolent crimes don’t necessarily carry light penalties. For example, promoting prostitution is a severely penalized crime. In fact, first degree promotion — promoting child prostitution or forcing people to prostitute themselves against their will — is a Class D felony, which carries a maximum sentence of six years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Possession of child pornography carries extremely serious penalties. Each pornographic image can count as a separate offense, so defendants are commonly charged with multiple counts at one time. For example, a college student in Arkansas was recently charged with 588 counts of child pornography based on the number of alleged pornographic images. Child pornography involving the use of a computer is a Class B felony, which carries a maximum sentence of 20 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
The law is particularly harsh toward people accused of sexual assault accomplished through force, the use of drugs or the exercise of power over a person who lacks the legal capacity to consent. This class of sexual offenses includes:
In Arkansas, rape and sexual assault are felonies and are punishable by as much as life in prison. The specific maximum sentences are:
These are serious crimes, but the authorities must prove the necessary elements beyond a reasonable doubt. Our criminal defense team takes an aggressive approach to your defense, challenging the evidence and witnesses against you.
In 2011, the Arkansas General Assembly passed a series of statutes requiring convicted sex offenders to register with their local law enforcement agencies. Individuals who are adjudicated guilty of a sex offense, aggravated sex offense or sexually violent offense must join the registry. This includes people convicted in other jurisdictions or required to register under the Habitual Child Sex Offender Registration Act. For certain offenses, one must remain on the registry. In other cases, the offender may apply for an order terminating their obligation to register 15 years after release from incarceration or another institution, or 15 years after having been placed on probation or any other form of community supervision by the court.
At James Law Firm, our attorneys have earned a reputation for hard work, attentive service and successful results. We are available 24/7, and we make jail visits if needed. Hablamos español. Contact us online or at (501) 375-0900 to schedule your free consultation.