Sexual Assault Attorneys Fight Against Wrongful Convictions
Little Rock attorneys defend you against sexual assault charges
Rape and sexual assault are two of the more serious violent crimes in Arkansas. Each one carries heavy penalties and requires lifelong registration as a sex offender, not to mention the devastating consequences to your reputation and employment prospects. After your initial consultation, the experienced criminal defense attorneys at the James Law Firm talk with the authorities on your behalf, so you do not have to worry about saying the wrong thing. We follow up with a thorough investigation so we are fully prepared to defend you in court.
What actions constitute rape and sexual assault in Arkansas?
The primary sexual assault and rape crimes in Arkansas include:
- Rape — Rape is sexual intercourse or deviate sexual activity with another person by forcible compulsion; or who is incapable of consent. People incapable of consent include drugged sexual participants and children younger than 14. A victim younger than 18 cannot consent if the perpetrator had a close relationship with her, such as a relative or legal guardian.
- First-degree sexual assault — This offense occurs when adults with authority, such as prison guards or teachers, use their position of trust and power to commit sexual assault against a minor. Consent is not a defense.
- Second-degree sexual assault — This generally is a lesser included offense of rape and first-degree sexual assault, but also includes sexual acts by a minor on another minor who is younger than 14.
- Third-degree sexual assault — This offense occurs when adults with authority, such as prison guards or teachers, use their position of power to commit sexual assault against an adult.
What are the penalties for rape and sexual assault in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, rape and sexual assault are felonies, punishable by as much as life in prison. The specific maximum sentences are:
- Rape — Class Y felony. The maximum sentence is 40 years or life in prison.
- First-degree sexual assault — Class A felony. The maximum sentence is 30 years in prison.
- Second-degree sexual assault — Class B felony. The maximum sentence is 20 years in prison. It’s a Class D felony if committed by a minor. In that case, the maximum sentence is six years in prison.
- Third-degree sexual assault — Class C felony. The maximum sentence is 10 years in prison.
Contact Arkansas sexual assault lawyers to protect your constitutional rights
At the James Law Firm, our attorneys have earned a reputation for hard work, attentive service and successful results. We are available 24/7, and we make jail visits if needed. Hablamos español. Contact us online or at (501) 375-0900 to schedule your free consultation.