Search Site
Menu
Robbery

Attorneys Defend Arkansas Residents Accused of Robbery Crimes

Powerful advocacy in Little Rock, Fayetteville, Conway and beyond

Robbery is sometimes misunderstood as theft plus the use of force. In Arkansas, robbery is a much broader crime. Any felony, such as arson or drug trafficking, may include a robbery charge if threats of force are used during the commission of that felony.

At the James Law Firm, our experienced attorneys understand a good defense begins as early as possible — in the investigation phase, if possible. The way your lawyer handles preliminary matters can set the pattern for future dealings with the government, so it is crucial for your attorney to be prepared at the outset. If an investigation leads to your arrest, our attorneys go to court ready to argue for your freedom.

How is robbery defined in Arkansas?

Robbery can be charged under Section 5-12-102 or 5-12-103 of the Arkansas Code. Either category is considered a felony.

  • Simple robbery. Simple robbery involves the use of force during a theft or the commission of a felony, or the use of force while resisting arrest for such a crime. Simple robbery is a Class B felony and punishable by five to 30 years in prison.
  • Aggravated robbery. Aggravated robbery, known in Arkansas as armed robbery, is a Class Y felony and is punishable by 10 to 60 years’ imprisonment.  The state can charge a defendant with aggravated robbery in any of these circumstances:
    • The defendant is armed with a deadly weapon.
    • The defendant represents by word or conduct that a deadly weapon is present.
    • The defendant inflicts or attempts to inflict serious physical injury on another person.

The government sometimes uses simple robbery as a way to elevate a crime that would otherwise be a misdemeanor to a felony.

Does the First Offender Act apply to robbery in Arkansas?

Arkansas’s First Offender Act offers conviction relief for people who have never before been convicted of a crime. Under the First Offender Act, if you successfully complete your probation and you are a first-time offender, you may have your record sealed or expunged in many cases.

The First Offender Act is not available to people charged with a sex crime against a person younger than 18. Defendants charged with a violent felony are also ineligible for the first offender option. Arkansas law defines aggravated robbery as a violent felony, but simple robbery is not considered a violent felony.

Contact Little Rock attorneys who are experienced with robbery charges

At the James Law Firm, our attorneys have earned a reputation for hard work, attentive service and successful results. Contact us at (501) 375-0900 or online to schedule your free consultation. Hablamos español. We are available 24/7 to assist you. Jail visits are available.

Reviews and Ratings
  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    This firm is 5*. We hired them on Thursday afternoon and Friday morning they called with information on my case. This firm is dedicated to their clients. Bill James is awesome !

    Read more

    Client

  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    Very responsive to the needs of my clients in domestic abuse cases.

    Read more

    Client

  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    Patty James 'ROCKS'! She was the answer to all of my prayers. I know for a fact that GOD sent her to me. I felt protected with her. I felt that all I needed to do was leave everything in her hands and she would take care of the problem, and she did E...

    Read more

    Client

  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    No description provided

    Read more

    Managing Partner

  • lawyers
    5.0/5.0

    No description provided

    Read more

    Managing Partner

See all reviews
Contact us

Quick Contact Form