Arkansas is within the top 15 states with the most domestic violence. Approximately 40 percent of women and 30 percent of men in Arkansas experience some form of physical violence at the hands of an intimate partner in their lifetimes. Domestic battery and assault are prosecuted zealously but the rights of the accused can sometimes be threatened in the process. It takes strong, quick action by a defense lawyer to combat such allegations effectively.
In Arkansas, domestic assault or battery charges can be made only by someone within your family or household or with whom you’ve had an intimate relationship. This includes:
First- or second-degree domestic violence is a felony, while third-degree domestic violence is a misdemeanor. Even a misdemeanor conviction can force you to leave your home or prevent you from having contact with loved ones. No matter what level of offense you’re charged with, you will need a qualified criminal defense lawyer to protect you from injustice.
Possible defenses to domestic violence charges are:
Your lawyer also can analyze incident reports and medical reports in order to prove that the injuries your partner suffered were not caused by the alleged assault.
The James Law Firm is devoted to protecting the rights of those accused of crimes, including domestic violence. We encourage you to call our Little Rock office at (501) 375-0900 or contact us online to talk to a lawyer about your situation and find out how we can help. Hablamos español.